11.2 C
26 March 2023
News Transport

Minister Rovana Plumb presented the priorities of Romania’s Presidency of the EU Council in the field of transport

On Tuesday, January 22, 2019, in the European Parliament (EP) Transport and Tourism (TRAN) Committee, Mrs. Rovana Plumb-Acting Minister of Transport, presented the Romanian Presidency of the EU Council priorities in the transport sector.

Minister Rovana Plumb underlined that, in the next two months,  Romania’ will be focused on advancing discussion progress and agreement on as many files as possible, both at the European Parliament and EU Council level. Given the short activity timeframe of the European Parliament, the most advanced files in terms of discussion progress/ will be prioritized, both in the EU Council and the EP.

In the first part, the Presidency will focus on several files included in the three Mobility Packages, as well as on the BREXIT transport continuity files and the Connecting Europe Facility (CEF) dossier.

The Romanian Presidency, alongside the EP representatives, expressed their availability and support in order to advance and close as many files as possible in the next period, with a view to ensuring a sustainable mobility and connectivity, in the citizen’s interest and for the EU economic development.

Acting Minister Rovana Plumb presented the motto of the RO presidency: “Cohesion, a common European value”, together with the four pillars of the Presidency’s agenda:    A Europe of Convergence, A Safer Europe, Europe- a strong global player and A Europe of Common Values”.

The transport sector is incorporated in the Europe of Convergence pillar and the “Sustainable mobility as a factor for economic growth and competitiveness” is taken into consideration.

Related posts

Economic and Financial Affairs Council, 12 March, main results

Alexandru Stefan

Prime Minister Viorica Dăncilă’s speech at the Women’s European Council, in Brussels

Iulian Anghel

Another success of the Romanian Presidency at the EU Council in the Digital field

Iulian Anghel